Support charity, get puzzles!
Patron Puzzles for Philanthropy

Puzzle 351: Circumnavi-Gates 6

I've had to do some fiddling with the phrasing of the rules of this puzzle; more details can be found in a comment I've made on this post.

1 comment

Grant Fikes said...

Originally, my rule 3 stated that if a gate has a number at one or both ends, then that number represents the order you pass through that gate. However, this particular puzzle illustrates a common situation in Nikoli's Suraromu puzzles: one gate is numbered 1 at both ends, but those 1's are also shared by other gates. By my original phrasing of the rule, all three gates would have to be the first gate traversed; in Nikoli's puzzles, only the gate numbered 1 on both ends has to be first.

Nikoli's English rules state: Numbers at the ends of Gates - in the black cells - show when the loop crosses the Gate. A gate without a number may be crossed at any point in the loop. For example, a Gate with a "1" must be the first crossed (in one of the directions) from the cell with the open circle.
Nikoli's Japanese rules state: 両端が同じ数字ではさまれている旗門と、数字のマスから1つだけ出ている旗門で、端の数字は、○のマスから出た線がその旗門と何番目に交差するかを表します。上記以外の旗門では、順番は問いません。
(According to Google Translate, this translates as "Flag that is sandwiched between the gate and the same number on both ends, from the mass of figures that one out of the gate only one flag, the number of edges is, ○ or its flag gate and crossed the line what number comes from the mass of represents. Flag of the gate than the above, in any order.")

MellowMelon's Slalom puzzles put the numbers on the gates themselves, as opposed to on the black cells flanking them. It was also suggested that I can use arrows on ambiguous numbers (like the 1's in this puzzle) to point to the gate they refer to, much like the arrows in my Prev-Arrow-Cation and Straight and Arrow puzzles (and in my blog's favicon :) ). In the end, I decided to emulate Nikoli's presentation as closely as possible. For example, my Blackbarrier Jam puzzles have the given numbers circled, because Nikoli's Kurodoko puzzles also have the given numbers circled. My Quad-Wrangle puzzles have the given numbers in white text on black circles, because Nikoli's Shikaku puzzles also do. Why do they do that? I honestly don't know. But it looks nice. :)

Blog Archive